There is a term used to describe people who ask about things that they (and maybe all of us) are better off not knowing sometimes: they are called "askholes." But in the case of following a halal diet, these questions are inevitable ... life-crushing but understandable.
In February, Twitter user @TheLifeOfBako decided to ask M&M's if their colorful chocolate circles of perfection are halal. To the dismay of Muslims, it turned out M&M's are actually not halal-friendly (at least not in all countries).
"M&M's are not suitable for a Halal diet. We use additives that come from animal products," the chocolate manufacturer wrote in a tweet.
A month later, the tweet is still causing chaos among Muslims around the world.