While Canadians celebrated the election of Liberal Party leader Justin Trudeau to Prime Minister, upsetting a decadelong Conservative reign with a Liberal majority in parliament, Arabs should also feel proud, because three parliamentarians elected come from Arab backgrounds.

Eva Nassif, who is of Lebanese origin, won a parliamentary seat in the Federal elections of the city of Laval with 10,762 votes in Montreal.

Originally from the village of Ain El Deleb located in the East of the Southern city Saida, Nassif previously worked as a nurse in the American University of Beirut’s Medical Center in Lebanon, before she immigrated to Canada in 1992.

There, she quit nursing and started to work in translation. She established a company for translation and then moved to social and political work as she joined the Canadian Liberal Party.

Like Nassif, Marwan Tabbara hails from Lebanon. Having lived in the country for more than 24 years, he received his Bachelor's of Arts in Political Science and Government from the University of Guelph and works in Operations at Frito Lay.

He was elected to represent residents in Kitchener South Hespeler, Ottawa.

Originally from Saudi Arabia, Omar Alghabra has previously represented Mississauga—Erindale in the Canadian House of Commons between 2006 and 2008. He is also the former president to the Canadian Arab Federation, and acted as senior policy advisor to current Prime Minister-elect Justin Trudeau.

He graduated with a degree in mechanical engineering from Ryerson University before getting his MBA from York University in 2000. He currently serves as Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Faculty of Engineering and Architectural Science at Ryerson University

Muslims from other backgrounds also won big in this year's Canadian parliamentary elections, including:

  1. Ali Ehsassi, MP for Willowdale (Iran)
  2. Ahmed Hussen, MP for York South-Weston (Somalia)
  3. Majid Jowhari, MP for Richmond Hill (Iran)
  4. Iqra Khalid, MP for Mississauga-Erin Mills (Pakistan)
  5. Maryam Monsef, MP for Peterbourgh-Kawartha (Afghanistan)
  6. Yasmin Ratansi, MP for Don Valley East (Tanzania)
  7. Arif Virani, MP for Parkdale–High Park (Uganda)
  8. Salma Zahid, MP for Scarborough Centre (Pakistan)

Way to go, Canada!